Cumbria change-makers and innovators recognised in HM The King's Birthday 2024 Honours list

Over 1,000 people from across the UK have received honours in HM The King’s Birthday Honours List 2024, published today by the Cabinet Office. 

The focus of this List is individuals who have had an immeasurable impact on the lives of people across the country - such as by creating innovative solutions or driving real change in public life.

Many are active community champions, innovative social entrepreneurs, pioneering scientists, passionate health workers and dedicated volunteers.

Alan Bates, founder of Justice for Subpostmasters Alliance, receives a Knighthood for services to justice. Tracey Emin receives an DBE for services to art, as does Imelda Staunton for services to drama and to charity. 

The youngest recipient in the List is Shamza Butt, who is 20 years old and receives a BEM for her work as a Member of the National Citizens’ Service Trust Youth Voice Forum. Harold Jones is the oldest recipient, who at 100 years old receives a BEM for his fundraising for charities relating to Motor Neurone Disease and the community in Sutton Coldfield.

Michael Palmer, Andrew Airey and Timothy Owen, who founded the 3 Dads Walking campaign after losing their young daughters to suicide, each receive an MBE for services to the prevention of young suicide. The three dads have walked all across the UK to raise awareness of suicide in young people and raise funds for charity Papyrus UK.

The following Cumbrian residents have received a UK honour in HM The King’s honours list.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Lorrayne Hughes for services to Education

Professor Brian James Webster-Henderson for services to the NHS and to Education.

Humphrey Giles Welfare for services to Heritage in the North of England

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Andrew Airey for services to the Prevention of Young Suicide

David Geoffrey Jones for services to the community in Morland, Cumbria

Victoria Jayne Moorby for Services to the Defence and Aerospace Industry

Richard Ogden for services to the community in Cumbria and to Young People in the UK and Abroad

Fiona Kennedy Stobart for Services to Community Palliative Care,

James Edward Walker for Services to Tourism

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Thomas Coulthard for Services to Heritage and to the community in the Lake District, Cumbria

Dennis Laird for services to the community in Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria

Anyone can nominate someone for a UK Honour through the 'open access' system and awards are given to people from all walks of life.

The final decision as to who receives an honour is first decided by an Honours Committee and their recommendations go to the Prime Minister and finally to HM The King for approval. The process can take up to 18 months with recipients of honours announced in HM The King’s New Year’s Honours List and Birthday Honours List.

HM Lord-Lieutenant of Cumbria, Mr Alexander Scott congratulates all the award winners:

“It is a very proud moment for our county that so many Cumbrian residents have been recognised for their contributions to our communities. To be awarded an Honour is a huge achievement and I would like to congratulate them all. 

“I would encourage people to think about someone that they know who always goes the extra mile for others and who has made an outstanding contribution to their community or to their area of work over the years. Anyone can nominate a person for an honour, and I am very keen for people who have given exceptional service to receive the recognition they deserve.”

National Headlines
National and International News Headlines...
Add Penrith.Town App. Press Then select "Add to Home Screen"